INTERNATIONAL SKATING UNION

Communication No. 1637

53rd Ordinary Congress 2010

The 53rd Ordinary Congress of the ISU was held from June 14 to June 18, 2010 in Barcelona, Spain.

Countries whose Members were represented by delegates:

Andorra, Argentina (Speed an Figure Skating), Armenia, Australia (Speed and Figure Skating), Austria (Speed and Figure Skating), Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium (Speed and Figure Skating), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada (Speed and Figure Skating), China, Chinese Taipei, Croatia, Czech Republic (Speed and Figure Skating), Denmark, D.P.R. Korea, Estonia, Finland (Speed and Figure Skating), France, Georgia, Germany (Speed and Figure Skating) Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania (Speed and Figure Skating), Luxembourg (Speed and Figure Skating), Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand (Speed and Figure Skating), Norway, Poland (Speed and Figure Skating), Puerto Rico, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia (Speed and Figure Skating), Singapore, Slovak Republic (Speed and Figure Skating), Slovenia, South Africa (Speed and Figure Skating), Spain, Sweden (Speed and Figure Skating), Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine (Figure Skating), U.S.A. (Speed and Figure Skating), Uzbekistan.

Countries whose Member were **not** represented:

Montenegro, Philippines, Serbia, Ukraine (Speed Skating).

Elected Positions

The 53rd ISU Ordinary Congress has elected the following Office Holders for the period until the Congress of the year 2014.

1. Council

President Ottavio Cinquanta (ITA)

1st Vice President

Figure Skating David M. Dore (CAN)

2nd Vice President

Speed Skating Jan Dijkema (NED)

Members

Figure Skating Marie Lundmark (FIN) Speed Skating György Martos (HUN)

Junko Hiramatsu (JPN) German Panov (RUS)

Phyllis Howard (USA) Li Lan (CHN)

Tjasa Andrée-Prosenc (SLO) Roland E. Maillard (SUI)

2. Technical Committees

Single and Pair Skating

Ice Dance

Chair Alexander Lakernik (RUS) Chair Halina Gordon Poltorak (POL)

Members Fabio Bianchetti (ITA) Members Robert Joseph Horen (USA)

> Rita Zonnekeyn (BEL) Gilles Vandenbroeck (FRA)

Susan Lynch (AUS) Alla Shekhovtsova (RUS)

Patrick Meier (SUI) Sylwia Nowak-Trebacka (POL)

(appointed Skater) (appointed Skater)

David Paul Kirby (USA) John Dunn (GBR) (appointed Coach)

(appointed Coach)

Synchronized Skating

Chair Christopher Buchanan (GBR)

Members Mika Saarelainen (FIN)

Karen Wolanchuk (USA)

Philippe Maitrot (FRA)

Helena Johansson (SWE)

(appointed Skater)

Catharine Ann Dalton (CAN)

(appointed Coach)

Speed Skating Short Track Speed Skating

Tron Espeli (NOR) Andy Gabel (USA) Chair Chair

Members Nick Thometz (USA) Members Stoytcho G. Stoytchev (BUL)

> Reinier Oostheim (GER) Alexander Kibalko (RUS)

Jae-Seok Choi (KOR) Ji-Hoon Chae (KOR)

Christian Breuer (GER) Satoru Terao (JPN

(appointed Skater) (appointed Skater) - Provisional

appointment pending confirmation Jildou Gemser (NED)

Nathalie Lambert (CAN) (appointed Coach)

(appointed Coach)

3. Disciplinary Commission

Béatrice Pfister (SUI) Chair

Members Speed Skating Members Figure Skating

Fred Benjamin (USA) Volker Waldeck (GER)

> **Egbert Schmid (AUT)** Allan Böhm (SVK)

Honorary Members

The 53rd Ordinary ISU Congress elected Gerhard Zimmermann as Honorary Vice President, Courtney Jones, O.B.E., Myong-Hi Chang, James L. Hawkins, Gerhardt Bubník and Ulf Linden as Honorary Members.

The ISU Honorary Members are:

4. Honorary Members

Honorary

Vice Presidents Hermann Schiechtl (GER)

Jean Heckly (FRA)

Lawrence Demmy M.B.E. (GBR)

Gerhard Zimmermann (GER)

Honorary Members

Donald H. Gilchrist (CAN)

Benjamin T. Wright (USA)

Charles A. DeMore (USA)

Jean Grenier (CAN)

Hans Kutschera (AUT)

Wolfgang Kunz (GER)

Joyce Hisey (CAN)

Walburga Grimm (GER)

Maria Bialous-Zuchowicz (POL)

Claire Ferguson (USA)

Monique Georgelin (FRA)

Myong-Hi Chang (KOR)

Courtney J.L. Jones O.B.E. (GBR)

Ulf Lindén (SWE)

Gerhardt Bubník (CZE)

James L. Hawkins (USA)

Appointed Positions

The Council re-confirmed/confirmed the following appointments:

5. Headquarters

Director General Fredi Schmid (SUI)

6. Treasurer

Ulrich Linder (SUI)

7. Legal Advisors

Vacant/TBA

8. Chair Sports Directorate

Peter Krick (GER)

9. Figure Skating Sports Director

Vacant - Function time being performed by Peter Krick

10. Speed Skating Sports Director

Hugo Herrnhof (ITA)

11. Medical Commission

Chair Jane M. Moran (CAN)

Members David Mitchell (GBR)

Sanda Dubravcic-Simunjak (CRO)

Joel C. Shobe (USA)

Harm Kuipers (NED)

Hiroya Sakai (JPN)

Ruben Ambartsumov, M.D. (UKR)

12. Development Program Coordinator

György Sallak (HUN)

13. Event Coordinator Figure Skating

Mario Meinel (GER)

14. ISU Grand Prix Coordination Group (Junior and Senior series)

David Dore (CAN) (Coordinator)

Rita Zonnekeyn (BEL)

Halina Gordon-Poltorak (POL)

Peter Krick (GER) Mario Meinel (GER)

Secretary:

Ms. Patricia Mayor (SUI) (ISU Sports Coordinator Figure Skating c/o ISU Secretariat)

15. Coordinator ISU World Cup Speed Skating

Jan Dijkema (NED)

16. Coordinator ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating

György Martos (HUN)

Milano,

August 13, 2010

Lausanne,

Ottavio Cinquanta, President

Fredi Schmid, Director General